Ue o Muite Arukou & Kyu Sakamoto

What Do You Do for an Encore?

The famous “Sukiyaki Song” (1963) that has nothing to do with sukiyaki!

Ue o muite arukoo
(I look up when I walk)
Namida ga kobore nai yoo ni
(So the tears won’t fall)
Omoidasu haru no hi
(Remembering those happy spring days)
Hitoribotchi no yoru
(But tonight I’m all alone)
Ue o muite arukoo
(I look up when I walk)
Nijinda hoshi o kazoete
(Counting the stars with tearful eyes)
Omoidasu natsu no hi
(Remembering those happy summer days)
Hitoribotchi no yoru
(But tonight I’m all alone)
Shiawase wa kumo no ue ni
(Happiness lies beyond the clouds)
Shiawase wa sora no ue ni
(Happiness lies above the sky)
Ue o muite arukoo
(I look up when I walk)
Namida ga kobore nai yoo ni
(So the tears won’t fall)
Nakinagara aruku
(Though my heart is filled with sorrow)
Hitoribotchi no yoru
(For tonight I’m all alone)
(whistling)
Omoidasu aki…

View original post 89 more words

Leave a Reply

