Facing the world in difficult times

Pamela Trawick

Hymns stick with us because the words are powerful. They speak to me. Nurture me. They’ve survived through the years and evolved into modern versions. One hymn that particularly strengthens me is Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus by Helen H. Lemmel. Third Day, Selah, Alan Jackson, Hillsong, and Michael W. Smith have recorded updated renditions. I like country, so Alan Jackson’s version appeals to me.51FmMkM0Z9L._AA160_

Consider the words of the refrain:

Turn your eyes upon Jesus. Where better to look? Who cares for us more, deserves our attention more? Looking toward Jesus calms me, comforts me, even lowers my blood pressure.

Look full in His wonderful face. A face of love and sacrifice, strength, reassurance, compassion.

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim. Things like a broken toe, floods, terrorists, job searches—the things I’m tempted to focus on instead.

In the light of His glory and grace. Glory…

View original post 166 more words

Leave a Reply

