What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

Carpe Bootium

There is something remarkable about going through a period in your life when you feel like you are going to die (figuratively, emotionally, spiritually, intellectually, or even physically). There is a freedom and a boldness and a perseverance that comes along with staying alive against all odds. There is a peace that comes along with it too that is beyond compare. To you, the greatest fear of everyone else (death) is believed to be a near certainty for you, so you make peace with it.

I don’t pretend to know what people with Cancer, AIDS, Leukemia, Heart Disease go through. While I have worked in hospitals and Oncology wards, the inner life of adults suffering with terminal illness is something I do not know. What I know is when I was a child I had chronic Asthma and Bronchitis which seemed like forever. My mother and I spent…

View original post 176 more words

Leave a Reply

